Erasmus+

Erasmus+: The EU programme for Education, Training, Youth and Sport

The EU programme for Education, Training, Youth and Sport, Erasmus+, was launched on 1st January 2014. The programme has a budget of €14.7 billion to support cooperation in higher education, primary education, vocational education and training, adult education, youth and sport for the period 2014–2020.
Additionally, €1.68 billion is available for the programme’s international dimension; to fund mobility and higher education cooperation with partner countries outside Europe.

The programme is based on three Key Actions:

  • Key Action 1: Learning mobility of individuals
  • Key Action 2: Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices
  • Key Action 3: Support for policy reform

Besides the EU member states, further European countries, such as Norway, Turkey or Macedonia have set-up an agreement with the European Commission in order o fully participate in Erasmus+ as programme countries. (see: https://ec.europa.eu/programmes/erasmus-plus/)

What funding opportunities are available under Erasmus+ for the higher education sector?

  • Student mobility: Mobility for a study or training period abroad (intra-European mobility)
  • Staff mobility: Teaching and training opportunities for staff of higher education institutions (intra-European mobility)
  • International mobility: Student and staff mobility for learning and teaching purposes from partner countries to Europe, and (to a lesser extent) from Europe to partner countries
  • Erasmus+ Master’s degree loans: Loans for students accepted for a full Master’s degree programme in another Erasmus+ programme country (this scheme is currently only offered in selected countries)
  • Strategic partnerships: Higher education and multi-sector cooperation projects. These may, for example, include activities that strengthen cooperation between organisations on European level, exchange good-practices and/or the development, testing and implementation of innovative practices in teaching and learning.
  • Knowledge Alliances: Cooperation projects, notably between higher education and business. Knowledge Alliances are aimed at fostering innovation in higher education, business and the broader socio-economic environment. They intend to develop new, innovative and multidisciplinary approaches to teaching and learning; stimulate entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial skills; and facilitate the exchange, flow and co-creation of knowledge.
  • Capacity building projects: Cooperation with partner countries and regions outside of Europe. Projects aim to support the modernisation, accessibility and internationalisation of higher education systems in the partner countries.
  • Joint Master’s degrees: Delivery of joint Master’s degree programmes organised through an international consortium of higher education institutions. Scholarships are awarded to excellent students worldwide for participation in Erasmus Mundus study programmes.
  • Jean Monnet activities: Funding of teaching programmes, research projects, conferences and studies focusing on the European integration process.

The Erasmus+ funding lines for mobility and strategic partnerships are administered at national level, by the National Erasmus+ Agencies. Further funding lines in higher education, such as the Knowledge Alliances, Erasmus Mundus Joint Degrees and Jean Monnet actions are administered centrally by the Executive Agency for Culture, Education and Audiovisual (EACEA) of the European Commission in Brussels.

Further information

The National Agency for EU Higher Education Cooperation within the DAAD provides further information on the Erasmus+ programme (higher education sector) in Germany. Please note that the website is available in German only. Please refer to the European Commission’s website for Erasmus+ for further information on the programme in English.

Erasmus+

Erasmus+: Das Bildungsprogramm der EU

Das EU-Programm für Bildung, Jugend und Sport, Erasmus+, ist am 1. Januar 2014 gestartet. 14,7 Mrd. Euro stehen für die Laufzeit von 2014 bis 2020 für die Zusammenarbeit in Hochschul-, Schul-, Berufs- und Erwachsenenbildung sowie Jugend und Sport  zur Verfügung. Zusätzlich verfügt das Programm über ein Budget von 1,68 Mrd. Euro für die internationale Dimension, d.h. den Mobilitätsaustausch und die Hochschulkooperation mit Partnerländern außerhalb Europas.

Das Erasmus+ Programm umfasst drei Aktionslinien:

  • Leitaktion 1: Mobilität von Einzelpersonen
  • Leitaktion 2: Zusammenarbeit und Austausch von bewährten Verfahren
  • Leitaktion 3: Politikunterstützung

Neben den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten nehmen auch weitere europäische Länder als „Erasmus+ Programmländer“ im vollen Umfang am Programm teil. Dies sind beispielsweise Norwegen, die Türkei und Mazedonien. (vgl.: https://ec.europa.eu/programmes/erasmus-plus/)

Welche Fördermöglichkeiten bietet das Programm Erasmus+ im Hochschulbereich?

  • Studierendenmobilität: Studien- und Praktikumsaufenthalte für Studierende in Europa
  • Personalmobilität: Mobilität zu Fortbildungs- oder Unterrichtszwecken für Hochschulpersonal in Europa
  • Internationale Mobilität: Mobilität von Studierenden und Hochschulpersonal zu Studien- und Lehrzwecken aus den Partnerländern nach Europa und in begrenzten Umfang aus Europa in die Partnerländer
  • Master-Darlehensfazilität:  Kredite für ein Masterstudium im europäischen Ausland (diese Förderlinie steht zurzeit nur für ausgewählte Länder zur Verfügung)
  • Strategische Partnerschaften: Förderung von Hochschul- und sektorübergreifenden Kooperationsprojekten in Europa. Diese können z.B. den Austausch bewährter Praktiken oder die Entwicklung und Implementierung innovativer Lern- und Lehransätze beinhalten. 
  • Wissensallianzen: Unterstützung von Kooperationsprojekten zwischen Hochschulen und Wirtschaft zur Förderung der Innovation in Hochschulen, der Wirtschaft und im sozialen Umfeld. Ziele der Wissensallianzen sind die Schaffung innovativer Lern- und Lehrmethoden, die Förderung des Unternehmertums sowie die Förderung von Interdisziplinarität und Austausch zwischen Hochschulen und Wirtschaft.
  • Kapazitätsaufbauprojekte: Kooperationen mit Partnern außerhalb Europas. Die Projekte fördern die Modernisierung und Internationalisierung von Hochschulen und Hochschulsystemen in den Partnerländern Europas.
  • Joint-Master-Degrees: Durchführung von gemeinsamen Erasmus Mundus Masterstudiengängen, die mit einem doppelten oder gemeinsamen Abschluss abschließen, durch internationale Hochschulkonsortien. Vergabe von Stipendien an Studierende weltweit für die Teilnahme an einem Erasmus Mundus Masterstudienprogramm.
  • Jean-Monnet-Aktionen: Förderung von Lehrangeboten, Forschungsvorhaben, Konferenzen und Studien zur europäischen Integration.

Die Förderlinien Mobilität und Strategische Partnerschaften werden dezentral in den jeweiligen Erasmus+ Programmländern umgesetzt; weitere Förderlinien, wie die Kapazitätsaufbauprojekte, die Wissensallianzen, die Joint Master Degrees und die Jean Monnet-Aktionen werden zentral von der Exekutivagentur für Bildung, Audiovisuelles und Kultur (EACEA) der Europäischen Kommission in Brüssel verwaltet. 

Weitere Informationen:

Die Nationale Agentur für EU-Hochschulzusammenarbeit im DAAD informiert und berät sowohl zu den dezentral, als auch den zentral verwalteten Förderlinien des Hochschulbereichs im Erasmus+ Programm in Deutschland. Weitere Informationen zum Programm finden Sie auf der Webseite der Nationalen Agentur: http://eu.daad.de/

Die Seite www.erasmusplus.de gibt einen Überblick zu dem Erasmus+ Programm und den Ansprechpartnern in Deutschland und verlinkt zu den weiteren Förderbereichen der Schul-, Erwachsenen- und Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit, sowie dem Jugend- und Sportbereich.

Die Website der Europäischen Kommission zu Erasmus+ gibt einen Gesamtüberblick zu dem Programm und führt Neuerungen auf.